Skip to content
Swansea Counts — Swansea, in numbers.Local help →

Swansea · Wales

People and living standards

Swansea council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Swansea

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Swansea local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 229,743 in 1991 to 249,429 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Swansea council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 227,199 people in 1996; 249,429 people in 2025. 9.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Swansea council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991229,743
1992229,610
1993229,349
1994228,239
1995227,765
1996227,199
1997226,764
1998225,702
1999225,080
2000224,475
2001223,463
2002224,755
2003226,350
2004228,176
2005229,347
2006230,793
2007232,460
2008234,139
2009235,601
2010237,311
2011238,691
2012239,197
2013239,237
2014239,228
2015239,354
2016239,300
2017239,266
2018239,184
2019238,707
2020238,992
2021237,897
2022242,786
2023248,795
2024250,594
2025249,429
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Swansea council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 44,680 people in 1996; 40,712 people in 2025. 8.9% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Swansea council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199145,880
199245,952
199346,029
199445,571
199545,328
199644,680
199744,273
199843,615
199943,305
200042,837
200142,195
200241,698
200341,532
200441,492
200541,301
200641,248
200741,220
200841,204
200941,256
201041,181
201141,322
201241,481
201341,494
201441,415
201541,543
201641,715
201741,630
201841,436
201941,115
202040,937
202140,590
202241,087
202341,612
202441,418
202540,712
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Swansea council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 141,672 people in 1996; 157,011 people in 2025. 10.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Swansea council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991144,004
1992143,452
1993142,897
1994141,813
1995141,660
1996141,672
1997141,560
1998140,960
1999140,844
2000140,804
2001140,347
2002142,051
2003143,762
2004145,672
2005147,019
2006148,501
2007150,072
2008151,347
2009152,302
2010153,590
2011154,336
2012153,329
2013152,340
2014151,581
2015151,065
2016150,527
2017150,318
2018150,103
2019149,314
2020149,335
2021148,076
2022151,968
2023156,781
2024158,113
2025157,011
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Swansea council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 40,847 people in 1996; 51,706 people in 2025. 26.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Swansea council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199139,859
199240,206
199340,423
199440,855
199540,777
199640,847
199740,931
199841,127
199940,931
200040,834
200140,921
200241,006
200341,056
200441,012
200541,027
200641,044
200741,168
200841,588
200942,043
201042,540
201143,033
201244,387
201345,403
201446,232
201546,746
201647,058
201747,318
201847,645
201948,278
202048,720
202149,231
202249,731
202350,402
202451,063
202551,706
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 238,491 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Swansea · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh10,4514.4%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African2,7971.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups3,8081.6%
White218,05291.4%
Other ethnic group3,3831.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 239,023 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Swansea · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White224,69794%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,1600.9%
Asian/Asian British7,8033.3%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,9830.8%
Other ethnic group2,3801%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 223,301 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Swansea · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White218,49597.8%
Mixed1,1060.5%
Asian/Asian British2,2151%
Black/Black British2900.1%
Chinese/Other1,1950.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 22% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Swansea council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,493 per person in 1997; £20,255 per person in 2024. 113.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Swansea council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,493
19989,579
199910,074
200010,396
200111,126
200211,416
200311,615
200411,961
200512,016
200612,327
200712,623
200813,623
200913,659
201013,412
201113,451
201213,859
201313,982
201414,749
201515,126
201615,136
201715,670
201816,276
201916,966
202017,286
202117,783
202218,063
202318,881
202420,255
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Swansea council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -10.5% in 1997; -22% in 2024. 11.5 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Swansea council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-10.5
1998-11.5
1999-10.9
2000-12.7
2001-10.1
2002-9.8
2003-10.9
2004-11.9
2005-14.5
2006-15.8
2007-17.7
2008-13.5
2009-14.7
2010-17
2011-17.4
2012-17.9
2013-20.2
2014-18.4
2015-20.5
2016-21.4
2017-20.5
2018-20.3
2019-19.5
2020-17.6
2021-18.6
2022-21.3
2023-22.8
2024-22
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

21.2%

21 March 2021 · Swansea local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

18.9%

21 March 2021 · Swansea local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

7.3%

21 March 2021 · Swansea local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£205,000

July 2026 · Swansea local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£852

August 2026 · Swansea local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.